October 11, 2011

Torae Album Preview Event | UniqueSquared Mobile Studio

One of A3C’s highlights is being able to often times co-mingle with your favorite emcee/producer/dee jay as your walking from one venue to another, or even just after the performance for the artist in question. Another highlight is when an artist brings something special to the A3C Festival that you wouldn’t be able to get anywhere else. That’s exactly what Torae did when he linked up with the UniqueSquared Mobile Studio to host an invite-only listening session for his upcoming album,‘For The Record’.

The Mobile Studio Lounge moments before the invited guests arrive

The Mobile Studio Lounge moments after the invited guests arrived

The album, which is scheduled for release on November 1st and is available to pre-order on iTunes and FatBeats, drew in many of the industry’s most discerning taste-makers and music scene leaders for the preview event. In attendance, among many others, were Eternia, Da Beatminerz, and Don Cannon.

Attendees in mid-session, Torae in mid-flow

!llmind and Soul Wallace

To kick off the event, Mobile Studio Program Coordinator Kelli Jones had attendees stop at a catered V.I.P. area before heading passed security and on to the Mobile Studio where they then were greeted by the Mobile Studio’s lounge area and overall vibe of the evening. Once the bus was full, and yes, it was FULL and packed with people, Torae graciously welcomed and thanked all in attendance for participating and introduced a short 10 minute webisode chronicling the making of “For The Record” which set the stage for the listening of the album.

Songs like Shakedown and What it Sound Like produced by 9th Wonder and !llmind respectively, exhibit and no-holds barred demeanor with its bravado-laced execution. Of course, the joining of Torae and Marco Polo is a combination known to bear casualties – and their sole collab on this album, You Ready? is no exception.

This event is an example of why the A3C Festival is becoming more and more special every year. Torae not only chose a unique venue (no pun intended, sorta) on which to showcase his latest work, but also decided to showcase it during one of Hip hop’s truest and important annual gatherings.

We’d like to thank all of our partners and sponsors for helping to make this happen:

Finally, we thank Torae himself for allowing the UniqueSquared Mobile Studio to be the platform on which to showcase his work.


1.   Intro – prod Torae

2.   Alive ft. Wes – prod Khrysis

3.   You Ready? – prod Marco Polo

4.   What It Sound Like ft. Pav Bundy – prod Illmind

5.   Shakedown – prod 9th Wonder

6.   That Raw – prod Pete Rock

7.   Do The Math – prod Large Professor

8.   Changes – prod Diamond D

9.   Over You ft. Wes – prod E. Jones

10. Imagine – prod Eric G.

11. Only Way (Interlude) – prod 9th Wonder

12.  For The Record – prod DJ Premier

13. Thank You – prod Nottz

14. Reflection – prod Eric G.

15. Panorama ft. MeLa Machinko – prod Fatin

 Follow Torae on Twitter

For The Record is available to pre-order on iTunes and FatBeats


  1. I think this is among the most significant info for me. And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The site style is great, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers